Review: The Breastfeeding Mother’s Guide to Making More Milk

Since starting breastfeeding I’d realized that my original book about breastfeeding, though good, didn’t address all the issues that I was experiencing. I stumbled upon The Breastfeeding Mother’s Guide to Making More Milk and decided to pick it up since I felt I wasn’t quite making enough milk to keep my Bean satisfied all day.

The Breastfeeding Mother’s Guide goes over the basic info about how milk is produced and biology of the breast, but it also goes further with chapters covering:

  • what is normal and what is not
  • making the most of what you have
  • supplementing without decreasing your supply
  • is it something you’re doing
  • is it something the baby is doing
  • hormonal issues that may affect supply
  • physical techniques to make more milk
  • galactogogues (foods & herbs that stimulate milk production)
  • coping with low milk supply

One of the issues I’d noticed in nursing Bean was that at night we did great, and also in the morning. We had the most issues in the afternoon and early evening. I didn’t seem to feel very full and he would eat & eat and get frustrated. This book actually addressed the very issue I was experiencing. According to the book, what is most likely happening is that my milk reserves are being drained and when I nurse Bean in the afternoon, he’s getting milk as it comes in, rather than a stockpile of milk. So, after night and morning feedings of plentiful, in-stock milk, Bean is now having to wait for it to be prepared. Overall, there is enough milk, but the lack of instant gratification for him leads to fussy nursing and frustration. Also because of less milk being available, the flow of milk is slower and babies prefer a faster flow. Learning this was a great relief to me.  The best line for me: “most of the time, the reality is that you have plenty of milk over twenty-four hours, just not a  lot right now, and that’s OK.” (emphasis in the original)

Another great chapter is the coping with low milk supply chapter. There is a large difference between actively trying to increase milk supply and coping with the emotional toll of having a low milk supply.  As the book suggests “take some time alone when you can be unobserved for awhile. Make yourself comfortable and put a box of tissues by your side. Then allow all of the disappointments of your breastfeeding experience to come to the surface. Feel compassion for yourself-you’re completely entitled to these feelings.” Isn’t that refreshing to hear- “You are entitled to these feelings.”

This is a well detailed book that goes further than the previous book I read on breastfeeding. It is also recommended by the La Leche League International, which is a great recommendation to have for a book on breastfeeding.

Would I recommend this book? Yes, I would, it’s an excellent resource for any woman experiencing issues with milk supply. Even before you start breastfeeding, while you are pregnant, I would suggest reading this book and the other breastfeeding book I reviewed. The two books together provide a great basis for anyone who is planning to breastfeed. If I’d read this book before I started to have issues (or thought I had issues) I would have experienced less stress over breastfeeding my Bean. I love that the book is so comprehensive and I especially love the chapter on coping with low milk supply. It’s refreshing to be told to just sit down and cry and have those feelings in a world where we are expected to be superwomen and do it all and be perfect at every aspect of mommyhood.

Leave a Reply

