Ultra Hip Mama…maybe

If you are a dreamer, come in,
If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar,
A hope-er, a pray-er, a magic bean buyer…
If you’re a pretender, come sit by my fire
For we have some flax-golden tales to spin,
Come in! Come in!
~ Shel Silverstein

As I sit here in the middle of the night (technically the middle of the morning) unable to return to semi-blissful slumber, I’m drawn to do the fashionable thing for insomniacs these days, start a blog. I do this because a) I’m too intellectual for infomercials, b) I’ve recently seen all the Law & Order reruns, and 3) my insomnia is the type where my brain won’t stop and ramblings and musings run through my head preventing me from sleeping as effectively as my loving cat who has decided that since I got up to (once again) visit the bathroom, I also wish to have my face sneezed in.

So what about me? What about this blog? I am 35, six-months pregnant for the first time, unemployed, also for the first time (in 20 years) and an insomniac of epic proportions. I’m part-geek, all hippie and altogether new to just about everything I’m experiencing now. So of course, I’ve decided to share.

Sharing is only part of the excuse. I want to use this blog to document my feelings, however popular or unpopular, my rantings, my musings in a place where others may see them & love them or hate them, and somewhat anonymously, as I plan to express thoughts & feelings her that may surprise the people I know.  So here I write to protect my internet superhighway cred, so to speak.  In reality, there are so many facets of my personality that I feel I cast away strict labels of personality and require a forum to pour out all the “mommyness” I’m experience. After all, I wouldn’t want everyone who knows me to read this and think I’ve gone soft.

I have no specific goals for this place, but my idea is just to free write my feelings as they come to me in the purest sense of a blog (log as in journal,) to showcase things related to mommyhood that I’ve seen and liked, seen and disagreed with, or seen and been inspired. My hope is that this will be a place where other women like me who feel out of place in other mommy-worlds may find themselves here in my writings.

Leave a Reply

